Meet our January FOH Employee of the Month, the friendliest bartender on The Strip – Cherise

Ahh, sweet, sweet…Cherise! You know how part of being a good bartender is also about having that edge, that tiny drop of attitude? Well, we are still training Cherise on that. So far, she graduated from giving our drinks to her guests for free to actually charging for them, but we still can’t get her to stop refusing tips. She’s that nice. We are also debating whether or not we should introduce the word “No” to her. But who would then work all the hard-to-fill shifts? Cherise’s gorgeous smile rarely takes a break and we think she might the only female in Vegas whose mouth hurts for all the good reasons. Oh yeah, did we mention – she makes great drinks, too! We’d even say killer drinks…but she might report herself to the authorities for that. So come hang out in the presence of our very own private sunshine, enjoy the warmth she exudes, as she gets you sweetly, sweetly wasted. Nothing’s for free.

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Las Vegas. Born and raised, I have moved a lot over the years all over town. I think I have really learned a lot through these experiences and watching what my parents went through.

First kiss?
(Laughs)
That would be my next door neighbor at the time.

First car?
It was a 2003 Chevy Cavalier.
Who was your childhood role model?
That would be my uncle Greg.

Current role model?
My uncle Greg is still my role model.

How do you like spending your free time outside of work?
I definitely enjoy just being around my friends. It doesn’t have to involve alcohol or anything big, just being together and going out and doing something. It could be going to the batting cages or shopping. I actually am a big shopper, that’s where I was before this interview.

What do you most like about your job as a bartender?
It’s fast pace, I’m not just standing around, and I’m constantly moving around talking with people from all over the world. I’m a people person so that’s another aspect of the job I really like. It makes the time go by a lot faster when you’re busy like that. It’s a really fun job, I really do enjoy it.

Have you ever had a concussion?
(Laughs.) No.

What would you rather do, watch an action film or volunteer at a senior center?
I really don’t like action films; I would probably volunteer at the senior center. Possibly, I guess it would really depend on the movie.

Do you ski or snowboard?
I do snowboard. I like going to Brian Head in Utah whenever I have the opportunity.

If you had a super power what would it be?
Either move stuff with my mind or freeze time I guess. (Laughs.)

Blonds or Brunettes?
Oh…Brunettes.

Glass half full or half empty?
I actually see the glass half empty. I can be more of a pessimistic person, but that is something I am working on.

What is your resolution for 2011?
I definitely want to accomplish more and make this year better than last year.

Where is your dream location to visit?
Either Japan or Europe would be dream location to visit. I love sushi and would love to go to Japan and try the sushi there.

What is your favorite Hussong’s Dish?
I love the Carne Asada, it’s delicious, but I like all the food here though. Everything is delicious.

What is your favorite drink to make?
Either a Bloody Mary or the El Pepino.

If it was my first time coming into Hussong’s what drink should I try?
I would first ask you if you like spicy; if you’re a fan of spice I would recommend the El Pepino, which is one of my personal favorite drinks. If you’re not a fan of spice I would recommend our original margarita. You can never go wrong with a Hussong’s margarita.

Leave a Reply

